Brompton by Air – an alternative method

Russ Roca has braved the demons of the US airline system with a naked folding bicycle. He just denied its name. Citizens can do NewSpeak too!

Russ “gate-checked” his Brompton. Not sure whether anybody could do that in Europe where we seem to be much more strict on security if more relaxed about bicycles. Not sure also whether most people could come up with the emotional toughness exhibited in Ross’s blog post on the subject but it was a very interesting experiment which shows how far somebody can go if they are determined to sidestep mindless authority. Just don’t try it in Helsinki airport where I had a little lightweight cable lock confiscated at the x-rays because it might be a lethal weapon.

2 Responses to “Brompton by Air – an alternative method”

  1. Evan Says:

    Chris, I did my LAX-LHR flight but I admit I chickened out when it came to carrying the bike on the plane. I was honestly just afraid of that second checked bag fee. I threw it into a clear Ikea bag as others have done before, and I think that the fact that airline staff could see the bike led them to handle it with greater care. I carried on the brooks saddle, and I even wrapped up a bottle of whiskey in a few shirts, put it in a stuff sack, and strapped the sack to the Brompton – everything came out the other end unscathed. My preference is still to carry on, but other than the necessity of carrying an Ikea bag for the whole trip, this worked very well. For reference, the airlines were BA & AA.

  2. chrisrust Says:

    So that’s one naked bike and one “kinky” bike (naked inside a flimsy translucent bag) and both have travelled well. This might be a trend.

Leave a Reply

